Improve Your Daily Energy By Cleaning Your Fridge

Think of this task as a foundational habit for well-being

Katie Martin
4 min readApr 8, 2021
Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

The click-and-fizz noise of a Diet Coke can opening was the soundtrack of my childhood. My mom used to drink around 6–8 cans a day even while she was a high school health teacher (and knew the adverse health effects).

Oftentimes, our making unhealthy decisions isn’t for a lack of knowledge. We know what we should do to stay healthy and energized, but it’s a far cry from what we actually do.

As for me, I knew I felt sluggish because I was skipping meals and eating nothing remotely green. That wasn’t a revelation.

But what kept me from doing what I knew was good for me? The simple answer is that I needed to eat better. But why was that so hard?

Now I know that my lack of healthy eating wasn’t just a lack of willpower. In fact, there was a tangible step missing in between my intention to eat healthy and my actions. And that missing step was actually a pretty basic foundational habit.

What is a Foundational Habit?

First of all, willpower is fickle. With any habit I want to set, I know I have to think of ways to make it possible for my laziest self to accomplish. And a foundational habit is what…

--

--